News & Events

The Winners of 2018 #MakeMercyReal Video Contest

May 24, 2018

The Sisters of Mercy of the Americas announced the winners of the second annual #MakeMercyReal video contest on May 24. The contest is open to high school and college age students at Mercy-sponsored schools and ministries in the U.S., South and Central American, Jamaica, Guam and the Philippines. Each of the videos explores one of the five Critical Concerns of the Sisters of Mercy: Earth, immigration, racism, nonviolence and women.

The #MakeMercyReal video contest was begun to engage young people and to help them connect to the Critical Concerns of the Sisters of Mercy. Videos created by the students are shared with all Mercy-sponsored schools to foster conversations on issues of social justice.

The winner of the 2018 video contest is Alyssa Dela Cruz, who attends the Academy of Our Lady of Guam.

“This year’s winning video was selected by our judges for its creativity, emotional connection to the viewer and its clear focus on the injustices faced by women around the world,” said Mike Poulin, director of justice outreach for the Sisters of Mercy of the West-Midwest Community, and the creator of the video contest.

2018 Winners of the #MakeMercyReal Video Contest:

First Place – “Make Mercy Real,” by Alyssa Dela Cruz, examines injustice, inequality and lack of access to opportunity faced by millions of women and girls throughout the world. Alyssa attends the Academy of Our Lady of Guam in Hagatna, Guam

Second Place – “Immigrants Facing Poverty” explores the challenges faced by millions of immigrants in the United States who live in poverty; the video was created by Bethany Michels, Joanna Thomas and Taylor Burress of Mercy Academy in Louisville, KY.

Third place – “The Mercy of Reuse,” focuses on the moral and ecological imperatives to care for God’s creation, was produced by Ellie Lehto, Emily Trammell and Emily Williams of St. Vincent’s Academy in Savannah, GA.

Five additional teams of students – all from Mercy Academy in Louisville – won honorable mentions for their submissions.

Back to All News